Follow sourced scientific, clinical, partnership, capacity, and financial developments. Factual summaries and business interpretations are presented separately.
Research runs each weekday at 8 a.m. Eastern Time. Channels update when qualifying developments are found. Editorial standards · RSS ↗
Pinnacle Medicines closed an $89 million Series B co-led by LAV and Foresite Capital, bringing disclosed funding to $134 million. Proceeds support oral peptide programs toward clinical proof of concept, initially in immunology and cardiometabolic disease, alongside expansion of AI and physics-based discovery capabilities. The announcement does not provide new human efficacy results.
FDA approved icotrokinra, marketed as ICOTYDE, on March 17; Johnson & Johnson announced the decision the following day. The once-daily oral IL-23 receptor antagonist is indicated for eligible adults and patients aged 12 or older weighing at least 40 kg with moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis. The approval does not extend to ulcerative colitis or other investigational indications.
Unnatural Products closed a $45 million Series B led by The Venture Collective, with argenx, Droia, and existing investors participating. Funding supports its computational design, automated chemistry, high-throughput screening platform, and macrocyclic peptide pipeline. The oral-delivery strategy remains a development objective; this financing announcement does not establish human oral efficacy for a newly disclosed candidate.
Aurinia reported 2025 net product sales of $271.3 million for LUPKYNIS, up 25%, while company revenue reached $283.1 million, up 20%. Oral voclosporin is approved for adults with active lupus nephritis. The figures distinguish product sales from total revenue and licensing income; commercial growth does not constitute new comparative evidence of clinical benefit.
Unnatural Products licensed an undisclosed cardiovascular program to Novartis. Terms include up to $100 million in upfront and pre-IND payments, plus up to $1.7 billion in later milestones and royalties. The platform supports oral and injectable macrocycles; the announcement does not establish the specific program’s route or imply all contingent payments have been received.
Haisco reported Phase 1 and formulation pharmacokinetic findings for oral IL-23 peptide HSK47388. Exposure with a 50 mg enhancer formulation was comparable to a 200 mg tablet without enhancer, and the company said psoriasis Phase 2 began in fourth-quarter 2025. Public materials identify an oral peptide but do not fully disclose cyclization; relative exposure is not absolute bioavailability.
Syneron Bio reported nearly $100 million raised across its Series A and A+ rounds, with participation from AstraZeneca and multiple strategic and venture investors. Proceeds support its Synova high-throughput macrocyclic peptide discovery platform and advancement of pipeline programs toward clinical development. The combined financing amount is not a single round, and candidate-level oral clinical data were not disclosed.
Circle Pharma nominated CID-165, an orally available macrocyclic cyclin D1 RxL inhibitor, as the development candidate for its second oncology program. Preclinical studies supported disruption of the cyclin D1–Rb interaction and activity alone or with other therapies. Candidate nomination is a discovery-to-development milestone, not IND authorization or evidence that human dosing has begun.
PeptiDream described an orally administered macrocyclic peptide inhibiting IL-17A/A, A/F, and F/F. Preclinical challenge studies showed CXCL1 suppression and skin distribution. The company is progressing toward IND-enabling work and exploring partnerships. Entry into its development portfolio does not mean human dosing has begun, and claimed biologic-like activity remains preclinical.
Biogen and Dayra announced a research collaboration to discover and optimize oral macrocyclic peptides for immunological targets. Dayra receives $50 million upfront and may receive candidate-acquisition payments and development milestones per program. Biogen would lead subsequent development, manufacturing, and potential commercialization. The agreement concerns early discovery rather than established clinical efficacy.
Sungening reported that its preclinical SG6001 oral cyclic peptide program for hyperlipidemia was included in Shenzhen’s strategic emerging industries support initiative for innovative drug technology. The announcement did not disclose an award amount or human results. Program support advances research resources rather than establishing clinical authorization, product approval, or completed commercial manufacturing.
Merck presented Phase 3 CORALreef HeFH results in adults with heterozygous familial hypercholesterolemia receiving background lipid-lowering therapy. Enlicitide reduced LDL-C by 59.4% versus placebo at week 24 and 61.5% at week 52. The overall safety profile was comparable with placebo. The study evaluated lipid changes rather than cardiovascular-event outcomes.
Continue your research
Explore company filters, side-by-side comparisons, private bookmarks, and member discussions.